Committees & Plans

COMMITTEES (meet in person 30 minutes prior to each monthly LEIA meeting; additional meetings by conference call)

Ag Committee

Co Chairs: Ron Wyss and Becky Simpson.

Covers all Ag related issues; fertilizers, manure and runoff.


Water/Wastewater Committee

Co-Chairs: Janina Douglas and Kristin Kubitza.  (Municipal representative TBD)

Includes effects of water quality/algae on both drinking water and wastewater systems.  Will eventually include septic systems and health departments.


Lake Erie Fun/Events Committee –  (combined with Fundraising Committee)

Co-Chairs: Sandy Bihn, Ken Williams and Larry Fletcher.

Need events both large and small to promote the fun side of Lake Erie.  It is important to give meaning to the 2 halves of our mission; both to promote and improve.   

Fundraising – (combined with Fun/Events Committee)

Co-Chairs: Jim Stouffer, Ron Wyss

Developing our position paper so that other like-minded individuals and businesses will understand the Lake Erie Improvement Association approach and will decide to join us.


Legislative committee

Chair: Jim Sass

Takes the lead on legislative action and contacts.



Restoration Fund Raising will help Lake Erie by providing private dollars to help Lake Erie’s waters.

These private donations can also help us secure additional funding to help Lake Erie by serving as matching dollars in grant applications to the government and other sources.